Summer work……..

Just when I thought that holidays had started and that I could laze in the sun to recover from the rigours of Christmas the slave decided to assault her summer garden……

And yes, you’ve guessed it – the feral hasn’t been here to stay on top of the vermin – behind the hydrangea in the stone wall, she put her hand into the middle of a nest of fieldmice.

Shock! Horror!   Squeals of alarm!   Followed by a dash to the verandah where I lay snoozing in the sun.   She swept me up, thrust me under the hydrangea bush and told me to get to work.        What cheek!

I was so offended I was on the point of stalking off to show her that’s no way to treat a Lord of the Universe when the Thrill of the Hunt overcame me.      I stayed and slaughtered five (three were pups so scarcely worth the effort) and proudly laid them in a line at the back door.   To my great miffment she collected them all on a dustpan and threw them over the cliff edge so I couldn’t drool over the body count.     What a spoilsport.

2 thoughts on “Summer work……..

    • Yes, you’re probably right. In fact my Christmas present was my own website, Pompuss.com and I have a nasty feeling she expects me to use it as a mini profit centre selling dog toys and canary litter! Oh Grandeur, where art thou?
      However I shan’t waste my time feeling miffed about the way I’m being treated. It’s raining cats and dogs outside today so I’ll curl up somewhere soft and cozy and rest my eyes.

Leave a Reply

